Crafty

Hi Peoples!

Soooo this summer I have been going completely crazy with DIY projects, because summer is the time to make messes and try new things! I guess you could call me Crafty Clio…(Or not ;)). But yeah, I have been watching a bunch of YouTube videos and putting my spin on a bunch of fun projects. It’s a lot of fun to change recipes, try stuff out and create something new. It has been really fun! Now,  I have two projects, actually 2 and 1/2 that I would love to share with you guys!

DIY PROJECT #1 – HOMEMADE LIP STICK:

What you need for this recipe;

  • Crayons in the shade of your choice (I suggest that you find the most non-toxic crayon brands possible… like Faber Castelle, Clear Hills Honey Co. and Crayola)
  • Vaseline
  • a small pot
  • a spoon or spatula
  • a small bowl
  • a small & sealed storage container
  1. First you take the pot and fill it halfway with water and heat it over the stove.
  2. Take your crayons and break them into small pieces (I scraped the outside of the crayons with a clean razor to remove any dirt and grime. And have your parents supervise the scraping!)
  3. Place your crayons into a small bowl and place the small bowl into the pot of water.
  4. Stir the crayons around in the bowl gently with your spoon or spatula until the crayons are fully melted. -TIP! (be careful that water doesn’t splash out of the bowl…It really burns!)
  5. Take the bowl of melted crayons out of the pot and place it on the counter, and bring the pot off of the burner. -TIP! (Place the bowl on a cloth so the heat doesn’t burn into your counter!)
  6. Depending on how many crayons you used put 2-4 table spoons of Vaseline in to the bowl and mix it into the crayon.
  7. Once the Vaseline and crayon are fully mixed together, allow to cool for a couple of minutes and then transfer the lipstick into your small container and you are done! It’s that easy and you have custom-made tinted lip balm!

DON’T FORGET TO CLEAN UP!

IMG_5862[1]

  • Immediately after you transfer the lipstick into the small container, hand wash the bowl under hot water and soap since the wax from the crayon will dry on if you don’t. I suggest putting the bowl in the dishwasher immediately afterward to really get all of the wax off.
  • Since you only put water in the small pot, dump out the water and dry off the pot so you don’t have to clean it again! TIP! (let the pot cool off first then do this step!)

HERE’S THE 1/2 PROJECT! And where I got a little experimental….

I didn’t have a container for the lip balm so I decided to make one of my own. As you can see above, it’s the top of a disposable drink bottle and here’s how I did it.

  1. First I found an empty drink bottle (I suggest finding one of the soda/lemonade bottles because with the basic water bottles, the air pressure causes the container to break) 😦
  2. With a razor blade and scissors, I cut all the way until the small ledge that is under the mouth piece and made sure that the cut was even all the way around (again with the parental supervision on the razor!).
  3. After that, I traced the base of the mouthpiece onto an old credit/gift/debit card that wasn’t going to be used again and I cut out the circle with scissors.
  4. I then flipped the detached mouth piece over and glued the circle onto  the bottom with hot glue.
  5. (OPTIONAL) : I painted the container with black nail polish, yes I said nail polish, (it may sound weird but it works really well) But you can really cover it with any thing from acrylic paint to duct tape. You Do You Girl!
  6. Let your container dry if you painted it and you are ready to go!

DIY PROJECT #2 – BODY/ROOM SPRAY!

What you need for this recipe (it’s the easiest thing ever):

  • your favorite essential oil scents (Make DOUBLE sure these are safe to put on your skin!)
  • a small spray bottle
  • water
  1. Take your spray bottle and fill up depending on how much spray you want to make.
  2. Drip 5 or so drops of essential oils into the spray bottle and if you are mixing two or more oils only put two drops of each in.-TIP! (I suggest not mixing more than 3 oils)
  3. Put the top back on and test the spray. If the spray isn’t strong enough add more essential oils. If the spray is too strong then add more water. experiment with your spray until you find the perfect combo for you!

I hope you enjoyed these DIYs and maybe try one of them!  These are great things to do in the summer to get ready for another year in school or just when you have downtime and want to be creative. (PARENT TIP: all the tweens I know are super into this kind of stuff right now.) Also, they can be money savers so if you don’t have the cash to buy any of these things you can make them with stuff from around your house. If there are any DIY projects that you want me to check out, just send me an idea in the comments and I will certainly take a look and see if I can either find recipes or come up with some. Have Fun Being CRAFTY!

Clio  🙂

 

3 thoughts on “Crafty

  1. So cool that you are keeping busy this summer with some fun projects, I may have to try them myself. Love your blog and look forward to getting your posts. Love you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

