Mary Poppins – #Awesome & Funny

Hi Peoples!

Sorry I haven’t written in a while, I have been very busy rehearsing for my end-of-the-year show with my dance company (and finishing school for the year).

As we speak, I am watching Mary Poppins. A great number in my dance show (not one of my numbers) was to Steppin’ Time, an iconic song from Mary Poppins. I felt like watching Mary Poppins since that dance reminded me of it; plus my Grandpa is visiting and he mentioned he wanted to see it too. I am enjoying the movie especially today; all of the songs and the magic and the dancing. But this is the first time I realized how pretentious Mary Poppins is in this movie. When she measures herself at the beginning the tape measure literally said “Mary Poppins, practically perfect in every way” she said that in such a knowing manner and it was just sooooooo funny!

My favorite song in the movie is A Spoon Full Of Sugar.  I just love the concept and the melody of the song. It gets completely stuck in my head all of the time but thank goodness, it is one of those songs that I don’t mind getting stuck in my head. Keep an eye out for my top ten list of worst songs to get stuck in your head; I think I’m definitely going to do that one next.

I also only just now realized that Mrs. Banks is as absent in her children’s lives as Mr. Banks is, (which of course is the reason that Mary Poppins arrives in the first place). Like when Bert finds the children after they run away from the bank and brings them home Mrs. Banks just leaves them with a stranger. She apparently thinks that  her suffragette meetings are more important than her children just as order is more important than quality of life and being with his family is to Mr. Banks. It does sound pretty outrageous when you write it down but they do finally come together at the end and for real, #bertisawesome.

Happy Summer everyone! Watch some old movies!!

Clio 😉

P.S. If you have not watched the movie Mary Poppins then you are deprived and must to watch it immediately.

 

 

One thought on “Mary Poppins – #Awesome & Funny

  1. Hi Clio! My favorite song in Mary Poppins is, “I Love to Laugh” during the tea party on the ceiling! I giggle everytime and I’m 58 years old!

    Like

Leave a Reply

